Land of Art
The art of ceramics, which is born by modeling earth and working it until it becomes a unique object in the world. The art of building, created by man through the centuries, the charming villages, the enduring medieval fortresses and elegant Renaissance palaces.
DISCOVER THE WONDERS OF THE REGION
Learn about all of the scheduled events
The house where Alfredo Oriani spent most of his life and wrote all of his works Guided tours of “Il Cardello” House Museum resume on Sunday, April 6st, 2019 after winter break. “Il Cardello” is a splendid example of a nineteenth-century romagnola house, still complete with its original furnishings, just as Luisa Pifferi, daughter of the writer Alfredo and the last to person to lived there, had left it. In the attic, there are many relics: agricultural tools from the estate (Oriani was a proud wine producer), and the bicycle with which the writer, considered ‘the father of “cycling”, in 1897 made the solo trip of almost 1,000 km between Romagna and Tuscany, which inspired one of his most beloved works: “La Bicicletta”. Opening hours: Saturday afternoon (from April 1st to June 30th, from 3pm to 5pm, from July 1st to September 30th, from 4pm to 6pm, closed in October) Sundays and holidays (from April to September 30th, from 10am to noon and from 2.30pm to 6.30pm, and from 2.30pm to 5.30pm in October). Admission (€ 4.50 full, € 3.00 reduced) includes a guided tour, departing every 30 minutes from opening. Possible visits for groups even after hours, by reservation. […]
The Carrera Autopodistica and the Sagra della Braciola are the highlights of the Castellan September castellano.
PLACES FOR ENJOYMENT
The Checco Costa Museum is the exhibition space dedicated to automobiles and located in the picturesque setting of Autodromo Internazionale Enzo e Dino Ferrari. The perfect place to explore the wonders of Imola and its territory, discover a wealth of ideas and emotions unique to this part of Romagna.
Faenza is the City of Ceramics (the term faiance indicates the majolica internationally) and here there had to be a Museum dedicated to ceramics. Founded in September 1908 by Gaetano Ballardini, the International Museum of Ceramics, is one of the most important ceramic museums in the world. Between the corridors and the spacious rooms of the Museum, the history of ceramics can be traced from the pre-Columbian age up to today. The initial area was the Section of Nations, which was later added to with a permanent exhibition of modern Italian ceramic art in 1926, a section of ancient Italian majolica and that of popular pottery (1916), and the Section of the Far East (1919). Then they were organized into educational sections: Italian majolica, prehistoric ceramics and the classical world, the ceramics of the East and finally the pre-Columbian ceramics. The collections are divided into three large sections (Italian ceramics, civilizations and continents, contemporary ceramics), which create an encyclopedia of ceramics from its beginning to the blossoming of the various Italian and foreign schools, to the most modern expressions of the art of our days. In the first section, which consists of works from the fourteenth to nineteenth centuries, are […]
The Municipal Library of Imola draws its origin from that of the Conventual Minorities of San Francesco of Imola, under the initiative of Father Giuseppe Maria Setti. During the French presence, the religious library was confiscated from the friars and given to the Municipality. During this period, in addition to the requisitions made to the suppressed religious groups, other ecclesiastical libraries of Imola converged in San Francesco, including those of the Capuchins, the Jesuits, the Dominicans, the Carmelites, and the Seminary. The library was opened to the public on January 11th, 1799 with a public ceremony. During the Austro-Russian counter-revolutionary intermezzo (June 1799 – June 1800), the bookshop returned to the friars. With the return of French authority, the library once again was returned to the City. Until the 1920s, the library’s patrimony consisted of funds from various religious libraries. In the next age, together with small purchases, numerous private donations were received. Among the most valuable gifts first given to the library was the collection of works of the writers of Imola that belonged to Giovanni Codronchi Argeli (1843), an illustrious bibliophile and gonfalonier of the city. It marked an important change in the historical physiognomy of the collections. […]
The theater, inaugurated in 1812, was taken from the fourteenth-century church of St. Francis located on the top floor of the complex of the same name: during the Napoleonic control, the church was closed and the project of conversion into a theater was entrusted to the architect Giuseppe Magistretti. Three years after its completion, changed the political climate, a papal decree caused its closure because of the incompatibility between the pre-existing religious structure and the new destination as a place for shows. It reopened in 1831, on the condition that the municipal authorities readjust the façade, erasing any reference to the pre-existing church: the nineteenth-century portico, which constitutes the entrance to the theater, is so foreign (almost “supported”) to the rest of the building that has maintained largely medieval lines and proportions. The theater is decorated by the pictorial decorations of Felice Giani, an extraordinary interpreter of neoclassicism, and of his collaborator Gaetano Bertolani, a decorator. The history of this key place in the culture and society of Imola is more than 200 years long. In the theater’s lyrical works alternate between dramas, melodramas, comedies, games of prestige and acrobatic dances and dance parties. Usually the shows are staged between […]
It quickly became one of the most important mental hospitals in Italy, covering an area of about 140,000 square meters and including the part of the land destined for an agricultural colony and the beautiful park with large tree-lined avenues. The patients , the clinics, the staff quarters, the general kitchen, laundry, and workshop services were house in its large pavilions. Inside the Observanza complex are the Church of San Michele and the Convent of the Osservanza. The Church includes the Santuario della Beata Vergine delle Grazie (Sanctuary of the Blessed Virgin of the Graces) on the altar of which is a particularly beautiful image attributed to Guidaccio da Imola. The Sanctuary also takes its name from the minor observant friars who settled in Imola in the fifteenth century. The Church was finished in 1472 and a few years later the two cloisters and chapels were added, originally divided by small walls that were demolished in 1940 to obtain a single aisle. The facade is very simple while the portico is fairly ornate with round arches decorated with seraphim heads. Under the portico there are three funerary monuments the most interesting of which is that of Bianca Landriani, sister of […]
The Pieve di San Giovanni in Ottavo (called Pieve del Tho) is located just over a kilometer from Brisighella. It is the oldest parish church in the Lamone Valley. It is called “in Ottavo” (in eighth) because it is located at the eighth mile of the Roman road that connected Faenza with Etruria. The first mention dates back to 909, but its foundation is certainly earlier. For many centuries, it was the only cult center of the Alta Valle del Lamone, probably erected at the site of a temple dedicated to Jupiter Ammon. The era of its construction is still unknown, but probably took place between the eighth and tenth centuries. The temple is of Romanesque style: with a basilica plan, three naves, divided by arches that rest on eleven columns of gray marble and a red of Verona, very different from each other in terms of thickness and width (perhaps the material was recycled from an ancient pre-existing dedicated temple – as mentioned above – to the God Jupiter Ammon). In the entrance, there is a capital used as a holy water stoup, in the right aisle works of Faenza artists: ceramic tombstone from 1592, terracotta statue from 1828 […]
Nineteenth-century local historical sources suggest the foundation of the complex dates back to the early decades of the fifth century, however the first official documents with a papal seal date to 1126. Next to it stood a Benedictine monastery with a beautiful cloister and a guest house. The abbey stood in a strategic point of the valley and its importance is evidenced by the documented breadth of its possessions and the numerous other churches that belonged to it. The councils and assemblies of the community gathered on his churchyard. Subsequently, the church passed to the secular clergy, mostly likely due to the consistent decrease in the number of monks. Substantial restoration work carried out recently brought to light sections of earlier structures, some from the pre-Christian era and of majestic appearance. The real surprise was found under the apse: the remains of an older church, with a trilobed plan (that is, with three apses) that dates back to the seventh or eighth century after Christ. The abbey is a very special place, where you can breathe the mystical atmosphere of medieval churches and simple set of country churches. Go down the ancient stone steps that lead under the apse, to […]
The elevated position and the imposing façade overlooking Piazza della Libertà made an immediate impression. Dedicated to St. Peter, it was built between 1474 and 1520 on a pre-existing cathedral, of which there is little information other than some stone elements that were reused in the external sides. The building site was long, complex and tormenting: the Florentine Giuliano da Maiano, a Brunelleschi-trained architect, considered one of the greatest exporters of Florentine taste undertook the great task. Despite its fidelity to the conception of the master, there are some variations, such as the introduction of elements typical of the Romanesque architecture of the Po valley. The façade, of warm rough brick (toothed bricks) is unfinished and no one is sure what its coating should be: the visible one, in white limestone (only on the basal strip), was arbitrarily started after Giuliano had left the building site. The initial project certainly included a greater illumination than the current one, partially due to the closure of some lateral openings due to altars, eaves and works of art not provided in Giuliano’s original design. It is an artistically important building (which in the Renaissance is unique at the regional level, with the only […]
Piazza del Popolo is the nerve center of Faenza public life, an essential part of politics since the most ancient age. Two porticoes with an elegant and harmonious appearance surround it. They have been built, redone and modified, in over a long period of time, from 1470 to 1932. Next to the Clock Tower stands the Palazzo del Podestà, originally Palazzo Comunale (the oldest part is from 1177), the heart of the first major age of the Municipality of Faenza, which was already in existence in 1030. The picturesque character that characterizes its current appearance is due in large part to the restoration, but there is no shortage remains of ancient architecture (suggestive of the twentieth-century capitals on top of the Beccai arch). Opposite it is the Palazzo del Municipio, built in the 13th century as the residence of the captain del Popolo, who also wanted to be a contralto of the Podestà even symbolically. The structure then became the seat of noble power, later transforming into the palace of the papal legate and finally it became the location of the Faenza Town Hall. Its heterogeneous aspects is reminiscent of the various powerful figures that have followed one another, from […]
It stands on one of the three chalky pinnacles that overlooks the village. The complex of this fortress consists of the “Torrione Veneziano” (16th century) and the ancient “Torricino”, which dates back to 1300, built at the behest of the Manfredi family of Faenza. Today, it has been brought back to new splendor through continuous and qualified restorations. It is a valuable example of medieval military art. Since May 2016, it has housed the Museo dell’Uomo e del Gesso (Museum of Man and Gypsum), a museum itinerary that crosses the long history of man’s relationship with this territory and with the mineral that characterizes it. The stairway to access the Torre Manfrediana della Rocca is a walk into history that, starting from the first visitors to the caves of the Vena del Gesso in the Protostoric age for funerary and sacred rites, goes through the Roman age – with the development of the extraction of precious lapis specularis, the glass of stone – to get to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance, with the phenomenon of the embankment that sees the chalky ridges the key element in the construction of fortresses and castles. The upper room of the Torre Manfrediana […]